Do You Need a License to Ride a Motorcycle in Michigan?
Riding a motorcycle is incredibly fun, cheaper than a car, but carries a fair share of danger. Riding a motor vehicle is a privilege, you need to observe traffic laws of the state to keep yourself, other road users, and pedestrians safe.
That’s why it’s important to ask: do you need a license to ride a motorcycle in Michigan?
You Need a Driver’s License to Ride a Motorcycle in Michigan
The short answer is yes. To protect its citizens from a severe injury like brain damage, spinal cord damage, and burns, Michigan law requires you to possess a valid driver’s license with a motorcycle endorsement to ride on public roads.
You can apply for a temporary permit if you’re at least 16 years old, but the requirements will be different for a full motorcycle endorsement.
How Can You Get a Motorcycle Endorsement on Your License?
You can apply for a Temporary Instruction Permit and pass a Skills Test.
If you completed Michigan’s Basic Rider Course before March 16, 2021, you should have a Certificate of Completion to the Office of the Secretary of State to get your motorcycle endorsement.
However, if you completed the course after March 16, 2021, you should receive your Certificate of Completion via email, which contains instructions to either go online or present the Certificate to a Secretary of State branch office.
On the other hand, if you have a temporary instruction permit, you need 180 days of practice riding before taking the rider skills test. Once you’ve passed it, you will be emailed instructions on obtaining your motorcycle endorsement.
Driving a Motorcycle in Michigan
Once you’ve obtained your motorcycle endorsement, you are now allowed to ride a motorcycle in Michigan. Make sure to know and follow all the traffic laws and regulations to continue being allowed to ride on public roads.
In the event of an accident that leads to injury or property damage due to the negligent actions of another contact, a motorcycle accident lawyer from Pazner Law to help you build your case and protect your right to compensation. Feel free to call us at 313-822-2244 to schedule a free case review or fill out the contact form on this page.